Texas Penal Code 9.22 - Necessity

General training discussions and class reviews.

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
CigarStix
Posts in topic: 2

Texas Penal Code 9.22 - Necessity

Post by CigarStix »

Can someone please explain this to me? I'm a new CHL Instructor, working on my presentation, and I'm trying to put this in simple terms. Thanks!
Always Carry, Never Tell
NRA Member
Certified NRA Instructor
Licensed CHL Instructor

:txflag:

Greybeard
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Texas Penal Code 9.22 - Necessity

Post by Greybeard »

A (rare) defense to prosecution. In some states, also known as "Law of Competing Harms". Summarized by "It is OK to break the law if following the law would cause more human injury than breaking it."
CHL Instructor since 1995
http://www.dentoncountysports.com "A Private Palace for Pistol Proficiency"

Eric Lamberson
Posts in topic: 1

Post by Eric Lamberson »

Hope this helps. I am not an attorney and I am not offering any legal advice.

Conduct is justified if:

(1) the actor reasonably believes the conduct is immediately necessary to avoid imminent harm;

(2) the desirability and urgency of avoiding the harm clearly outweigh, according to ordinary standards of reasonableness, the harm sought to be prevented by the law proscribing the conduct; and

(3) a legislative purpose to exclude the justification claimed for the conduct does not otherwise plainly appear.

What this means is that there are times when someone is justified in breaking the law because the harm they are causing (e.g. intentionally displaying a pistol) is less harmful than the harm they avoid (e.g. an innocent being threatened with unlawful force). I typically use the intentional display example to explain the concept. Another example: It is illegal to break into a house; however, if the house is on fire and the reason you broke into the house was to rescue a young child, your conduct would be justified even though you technically broke the law.