Question for the CHL Veterans-Concealment

Holsters, sights, magazines, etc.

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
BryanW
Posts in topic: 2

Question for the CHL Veterans-Concealment

Post by BryanW »

Please forgive me for possibly asking a dumb question but I am curious so don't bash me as I am a rookie. I purchased a Blackhawk holster that protrudes from my side a little bit but will be worn beneath my shirt or any shirt that I would wear while carrying. Is the gun still considered concealed if beneath my shirt and not visible to the naked eye but more than likely you could see the that I have something on my hip.

Mx217
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Question for the CHL Veterans-Concealment

Post by Mx217 »

Yes, you will hear it be referred to here as "printing". Even though nothing is illegal about that, it is a good idea to try to minimize it as best as possible. Of course if you're carrying a double stacked handgun there will always be a little bit of a "print" from it no matter what you do. If you're overly worried about this my suggestion would be to adjust your carry position. Say if you carried at 3 o clock, try moving the holster to the 4-4:30 position behind the hip where the gun sits more flush against your skin . My next suggestion is do your research and pick out a quality holster. I'm guessing A good part of your problem comes from the holster. Once you find a decent custom made leather or hybrid holster it will not only be more comfortable, but help reduce printing as well.

Teamless

Post by Teamless »

if they cannot see the gun, it is concealed

depending on how much it protrudes out however, you could be asking for problems.

do you have a good gun belt, or just a belt you think works good with your gun?

As you will learn, as probably all of us have learned, a good gun belt is sooooo important to keep it from sagging, flopping over (sticking out), etc.

One other thought, is how much is is really protruding?