Joe Straus

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 10

Joe Straus

Post by RoyGBiv »

Is there a plan for unseating Straus from the Speakers chair?
How can I help?

What, if any, sway would a Governor Abbott (assuming, I know) have over a reappointed Speaker Straus?

It would be a shame to see HB3218 (revived) languish in committee again without a vote. :banghead:
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

Bladed
Posts in topic: 12

Re: Joe Straus

Post by Bladed »

The problem is that, as long as the Democrats vote in unison, it takes very few Republican votes to elect the Speaker. Basically, an alternative candidate would need to have near-unanimous support among Republicans. Because only a few Republicans voting for Straus will be enough to get him reelected, and because voting against the Speaker is a surefire way for a Representative to get lousy committee assignments and be unable to get anything but local and consent bills out of committee, Republicans are understandably hesitant to vote for anyone else.

Topic author
RoyGBiv

Post by RoyGBiv »

Bladed wrote:The problem is that, as long as the Democrats vote in unison, it takes very few Republican votes to elect the Speaker. Basically, an alternative candidate would need to have near-unanimous support among Republicans. Because only a few Republicans voting for Straus will be enough to get him reelected, and because voting against the Speaker is a surefire way for a Representative to get lousy committee assignments and be unable to get anything but local and consent bills out of committee, Republicans are understandably hesitant to vote for anyone else.
I understand the obstacles, what about adapt and overcome?
If there's a plan and I can do something to help it, I'm in!

Hindenburg
Posts in topic: 3

Post by Hindenburg »