Thinking about signing up for a "Ride Along"

Most CHL/LEO contacts are positive, how about yours? Bloopers are fun, but no names please, if it will cause a LEO problems!

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
The Marshal
Posts in topic: 1

Thinking about signing up for a "Ride Along"

Post by The Marshal »

My understanding, Rockwall allows you to sign up for a "Ride Along" with an officer in the evening.

I think this would be a good experience for me.

Any thoughts on this?
Anyone done this before?

~Bill

cyphur

Post by cyphur »

I haven't done it, but I think that would be a great experience as well. I'm going to have to look into that...

Wonder if you could carry during the ride along?

txinvestigator
Posts in topic: 2

Post by txinvestigator »

I had many ride-a-longs when I was an officer. It is a great experience for both officer and citizen.

Most departments have a strict no-gun policy for riders.
Last edited by txinvestigator on Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
*CHL Instructor*

"Speed is Fine, but accuracy is final"- Bill Jordan

Remember those who died, remember those who killed them.

propellerhead

Post by propellerhead »

txinvestigator wrote:I had many ride-a-longs when I was an officer. It is a grerat expereince for both officer and citizen.

I've always wondered if the officers feel that this ride-a-long thing is a pain in the rear. I always thought having a civilian in the car would limit what they can do.

txinvestigator

Post by txinvestigator »

propellerhead wrote:
txinvestigator wrote:I had many ride-a-longs when I was an officer. It is a great experience for both officer and citizen.

I've always wondered if the officers feel that this ride-a-long thing is a pain in the rear. I always thought having a civilian in the car would limit what they can do.