Starr County

Most CHL/LEO contacts are positive, how about yours? Bloopers are fun, but no names please, if it will cause a LEO problems!

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
mescobar_rpls
Posts in topic: 1

Starr County

Post by mescobar_rpls »

Well, I was pulled over in Starr County by a DPS Trooper on Friday. I passed him as I came over a ridge, he made a u-turn and turned on his lights.

I pulled over (no shoulder), rolled down the windows, turned off my truck, and pulled out my licenses (drivers and LTC) and insurance.

Trooper N. (I don't remember his name, but it started with a N): Good morning, the reason that I stopped you is that you were going a bit fast. About 74 in a 65.
Me: I am sorry, but I thought the highway was 75. (handing him my info) and just to let you know, I am armed.
Trooper N: Ok, don't reach, but where is it?
Me: I have one on my hip, one in my pocket, and one in the glove compartment.
Trooper N: Wow, what are you, a lawyer?
Me: No, I am a surveyor.
Trooper N: Alright then. Why so many?
Me: Well, I am from Central Texas and I don't like being this close to the boarder. I had to make a quick trip for a funeral and I just want to get home for my kids graduation that is tomorrow.
Trooper N: ok, let me run these and if everything is good, I will let you go with a warning.

He runs my info, and of course everything is good. When he comes back, we had a good conversation about my twin girls graduating and what they will do after graduation. One has enlisted in the Marines, the other is going to college.

About 2hrs later, I get a call from my sister who also went to the funeral. She wanted to warn me not to speed because she just got a ticket on her way home. I told her that my stop was a warning and I would have called her but I did not have phone service.

Well, I made it back home (slower than I wanted to) safe and saw my girls graduate. Life is good.

Grundy1133

Re: Starr County

Post by Grundy1133 »