A meeting place for CHL instructors

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
SteyrM40
Posts in topic: 2

Becoming an instructor...

Post by SteyrM40 »

Hello,

I am a teacher and a CHL holder, so, as I see things, the next logical step for me would be to become a CHL instructor. I have thought about this for many months, and would like to get the ball rolling.

What steps do I need to take in order to become an instructor? I know I can go to the DPS website and fill-out an application. As a matter of fact, I already have one filled-out and ready to go, up until the $100 payment.

Are there any classes I should take before paying the $100, or is that the next step in the process? When is the training in Austin held? Is it only once a year and in August? If so, I'll wait a while before sending those $100 off to Austin.

Thanks for the input.

SteyrM40

Crossfire
Posts in topic: 1

Post by Crossfire »

Once a year, first week in August. You have to go back to renew every 2 years.
Texas LTC Instructor, FFL, IdentoGO Fingerprinting Partner
http://www.Crossfire-Training.com

Topic author
SteyrM40
Posts in topic: 2

Post by SteyrM40 »

llwatson wrote:Once a year, first week in August. You have to go back to renew every 2 years.
Wow... looks like I just missed out.

Is there a specific schedule? I have to plan a lot of things around my summer contracts and the start of the school year. Would it be something like:
● July 30 - Aug 3, 2007;
● Aug 1 - Aug 5, 2007; or
● Aug 6 - Aug 10, 2007.

Is there some place I can find these dates?

I appreciate your help.

SteyrM40

txinvestigator

Post by txinvestigator »

SteyrM40 wrote:
llwatson wrote:Once a year, first week in August. You have to go back to renew every 2 years.
Wow... looks like I just missed out.

Is there a specific schedule? I have to plan a lot of things around my summer contracts and the start of the school year. Would it be something like:
● July 30 - Aug 3, 2007;
● Aug 1 - Aug 5, 2007; or