Start Here?

A meeting place for CHL instructors

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
Saulnier
Posts in topic: 2

Start Here?

Post by Saulnier »

I will be taking my CHL class on Saturday April 21st.
I am tryting to find information about getting a CHL Instructors Certification to teach CHL classes.

Not a whim, or a get rich quick kind of thing.

I am a teacher in the public schools with 12 years of teaching experience.
Like most good teachers I am looking for an honest way to add a few extra bucks to the household income.

Might as well be something that I would enjoy doing right?
I understand that there is a class to take at the DPS range.
I have been to the DPS website.

But I still have questions.

So, either in a PM or open here goes;

1. Based on what some of you have experienced, what are some tings I should know about starting a business teaching CHL classes?

I figure I will have to pay self-employment taxes. Do I have to pay state sales tax on the money charged for a glass?

I will be taking my class at the local Gander Mountain store.
I would assume that the instructor has to pay a small fee to use the classroom space. I will ask.

I would imagine that you can work a deal with the loca shooting range for discounted range fees for class participants.

Do you recieve payment in personal checks or have you set up a DBA and company name to handle the business?

Seems to me that most instructors I have seen charge around $100.00 for a standard CHL class. Some include photos and fingerprints, and some do not.

What does it cost for you the instructor to teach the class? When it is all said and done do you get 70% of what you charge the students? Maybe 80%?

Just trying to see what the possibilities are. Not trying to undercut or steal anyones business. Just trying to figure out if this is something I should pursue or not.
It will cost me, and I understand that.