F-1 non-immigrant alien CHL

A meeting place for CHL instructors

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
troglodyte
Posts in topic: 2

F-1 non-immigrant alien CHL

Post by troglodyte »

I got an email this afternoon from a foreign student apparently attending grad school at Texas Tech. His contact information is from the Mech. Eng. Dept. at ttu.edu

Hello Mike

My name is <foreign name> (call me Chuck) and I would like to get a CHL. I am a non-immigrant alien here with a temporary visa. However, I contacted Department of Justice and ATF Office in Lubbock and was able to purchase a firearm since I have a hunting license (and since I've been a resident of Texas for the past 6 months and will stay here for at least 4 more years).

I wonder if I can also get CHL. Can you please inform me?

I responded that I would check in order to give him the correct information.

He responded:

Thanks Mike, I would prefer to be informed complely positive too, rather than doing something wrong. But the info I gave might help the officers give more accurate reply; let me repeat those:

- Right now, my status is a Non-Immigrant Alien with a lawful permit (F1 visa),
- I have a Driver's License in Texas.
- I am living in Lubbock, Texas.
- I have been here for more than 1 year (14 months, to be precise)
- I will live in the USA for at least 4 more years (have F-1 visa and am a graduate student at TTU)
- I am willing to do an OPT, which will allow me to stay in the USA even more than 4 years after I graduate, with a H1 visa.
- I am able to purchase a Resident Hunting License,
- I was able to purchase a gun since I have a hunting license and I am a Texas resident
- I bought my gun through Cabela's Outpost, so they did a thorough background check and confirmed my status, sold me the firearm.

This document over here is important: http://www.atf.gov/files/firearms/faq/n ... iens-2.pdf" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;