.40 S&W carry ammo opinions

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
CC Italian
Posts in topic: 5

.40 S&W carry ammo opinions

Post by CC Italian »

Well I have been carrying 155 grain Winchester silvertips for about 2 years and they have always feed great in my Glock 27. Some informal tests that I have done showed good mushrooming and little fragmentation. Great rounds but I am wanting to carry a bonded or DPX bullet and see how they perform.

I have narrowed it down to 4 loads and wanted to see if anybody had any experience with them. I usually don't like the 180grain jhp but I have seen the Gold dot short barrel round up close and they work great! I have not tried the PDX1 and I have heard they are comparable to Gold dots? The last two are Barnes loaded and I have never bought these being that they are very expensive. The only reason I bring it up is that I have a lot of experience with Black Hills ammo and I can only say great things about it. I have also shot a lot of Double Tap in Glock 20 and it has always worked great.

I am not really worried about Gold Dots as I know they are great but I wanted some opinions on PDX1 and Barnes bullets in general. It is actually cheaper to buy 50 rounds of the Black hills with Barnes bullet then PDX1 or Gold dot? Gold dots are increasingly getting more expensive. Next to the rounds I put the cheapest price I could find. I guess my question is are Barnes better then Gold Dots?

Winchester PDX1 165 grain 20 rounds $21.87
http://www.winchester.com/Products/hand ... fault.aspx

Speer Gold Dot 180 grain short barrel 20 round $25.99
http://www.speer-ammo.com/ballistics/de ... adNo=23974

Black Hills 140 grain Tac-xp 50 round $49.99
http://www.black-hills.com/handgun_calibers.php

Double Tap 140 grain Tac-xp (same Barnes bullet as Black Hills) 50 round $59.99
http://www.doubletapammo.com/php/catalo ... cts_id=389

mgood
Posts in topic: 2

Re: .40 S&W carry ammo opinions