Advice for a newbie

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
Kkpsiknl
Posts in topic: 4

Advice for a newbie

Post by Kkpsiknl »

Ok, so I am brand new to cc and I am looking for advice and recommendations on IWB carry. Thanks in advance for the help.

pebblebeachkid
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Advice for a newbie

Post by pebblebeachkid »

Get the n82 holster and live happily ever after :tiphat:

Middle Age Russ

Post by Middle Age Russ »

Welcome to the club!! If carrying on your strong side (if right handed somewhere between 2:30 and 4:30), most folks seem to agree that a hybrid leather/kydex holster with the belt clips somewhere to either side of the holster body to be comfortable and very usable. The ones you seem to hear most about are the CrossBreed SuperTuck, the Comp-Tac M-Tac and the Alien Gear models. I cannot speak for the others, but nearly five years ago I ordered an M-Tac, carry with it nearly every day and haven't looked back. If you carry in some other location, there might be other, better choices.

Keep in mind that any belt holster will work best with a a good gun-belt. Most holster makers also make gun belts as well as some others like BeltMan. A good leather belt is likely to run nearly $100 by itself, but there are also some good nylon web belts with stiffness appropriate for use as a gun belt. Wilderness and 5.11 make good belts in this category.
Russ
Stay aware and engaged. Awareness buys time; time buys options. Survival may require moving quickly past the Observe, Orient and Decide steps to ACT.
NRA Life Member, CRSO, Basic Pistol, PPITH & PPOTH Instructor, Texas 4-H Certified Pistol & Rifle Coach, Texas LTC Instructor

n5wd
Posts in topic: 2

Post by n5wd »

Hints for IWB?
1. A hybrid leather/kydex is a good blend of support and low cost, usually less $$ than an all-leather holster.