20 or 30 MOA

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
C-dub
Posts in topic: 15

20 or 30 MOA

Post by C-dub »

Several months ago I got a very nice AR-10 from TAM. Today I ordered the scope. 6-24x50 Vortex Viper PST

Then I was going to order this Bopro mount, http://swfa.com/Bobro-Precision-Optic-3 ... 76464.aspx" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; and realized I didn't know what MOA rise to order. I've read a little and think I should get either 20 or 30 MOA, but am not sure. I would like to zero this scope at 200 yards and still be able to shoot from 50 or 100 up to 1000. I don't know where I'd shoot at 1000 yards yet, but it would sure be nice to be able to if the chance ever presented itself. However, it's not a deal killer if it can't be done with 50 yards as the low end.

I'm still learning about this stuff and am not the greatest at the math conversions yet. What do ya'll think? 20 or 30 MOA for the mount with this scope?

What if I zeroed the scope 10 clicks down from center at 200 yards? Can I still dial down to 100? Would this give me more flexibility for the longer distances?
I am not and have never been a LEO. My avatar is in honor of my friend, Dallas Police Sargent Michael Smith, who was murdered along with four other officers in Dallas on 7.7.2016.
NRA Patriot-Endowment Lifetime Member---------------------------------------------Si vis pacem, para bellum.................................................Patriot Guard Rider

Pawpaw
Posts in topic: 6

Re: 20 or 30 MOA

Post by Pawpaw »

The 20 MOA mount should be plenty for 1,000 yards.

The 30 might cause problems on the short end. That scope has 65 MOA of adjustment, or 32.5 on each side of center. The 30 will eat up most of your short range adjustment.
Facts are stubborn things; and whatever may be our wishes, our inclinations, or the dictates of our passions, they cannot alter the state of facts and evidence. - John Adams