What to say after a shooting - from Massad Ayoob

So that others may learn.

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B, Charles L. Cotton

The Mad Moderate
Posts in topic: 1

Re: What to say after a shooting - from Massad Ayoob

Post by The Mad Moderate »

Great video with lots of information. A lot of folks think about what actions to take in self defense and fail to plan on the aftermath. Was it Patton who said "if you fail to plan you plan to fail"
American by birth Texan by the grace of God

Not to be a republican at twenty is proof of want of heart; to be one at thirty is proof of want of head.
-Francois Guisot

RoyGBiv

Post by RoyGBiv »

Excellent advice... Thanks.!!
2011-06-10_144602.jpg
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

Pug

Post by Pug »

Always good to watch that for a refresher...
:thumbs2:

WildBill

Post by WildBill »

A good video. One thing that I would like to emphasize is Ayoob's comment about "one handed reholstering by feel".

During some of the holster discussions, I have always recommended a stiff holster that doesn't collapse when the gun is removed from it. This is good illustration of why I don't like holsters constructed from flimsy materials.
NRA Endowment Member

TLE2
Posts in topic: 2

Post by TLE2 »

I've seen a lot of questions about the re-holstering issue, That appears to be definitive.

Charles Cotton says approximately the same thing in his class. He added that because your adrenaline is still pumping, your ears are ringing from the event, you need to give the basic information on the scene and then, after you've had time to calm down to a steady state, and consult your attorney, you can then talk more calmly about the incident. (These are all my words, in recollection of what I remember Charles saying. And that was a while ago.).