For those who like to roll their own.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
ddstuder
Posts in topic: 10

PC came in today!

Post by ddstuder »

This is my first attempt at powder coating boolits. :hurry:

I did not have any fresh cast, and it is too hot to stand over the 700 degree pour pot, so I just heated up some previously cast boolits to melt the grease out of the lube rings.

After melting the wax with a heat gun, I soaked them in gasoline to remove the grease. I have not doubts that fresh cast boolits will turn out better.

I am using the Dry Tumble method of PC using airsoft BB's as a medium to create static and distribute the powder.

I tumbled them for about 3 minutes and then baked them in my $10 goodwill toaster oven for 15 minutes.

Seeing the results and how easy it was, I believe the quality will only improve from here on out. I purposely rushed this test batch to see what kind of results I would end up with. So far I'd have to say, I have a new way to lube my boolits. :drool:
Attachments
45.jpg
PC.jpg
Last edited by ddstuder on Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Guns are like parachutes, if your ever in a situation that you need one and you dont have one, you'll probably never need one again.

Topic author
ddstuder

Re: PC came in today!

Post by ddstuder »

I will post more pics after I do some higher quality sessions this weekend!
Guns are like parachutes, if your ever in a situation that you need one and you dont have one, you'll probably never need one again.

Topic author
ddstuder

Post by ddstuder »

I don't have much experience yet! I did this test batch around midnight last night! :mrgreen:

I hope to play with it more this weekend, if the rain clears up. I understand humidity can affect quality using the tumble method that I am doing.

I see no reason why you could not run as many toaster ovens as you have room for. I picked up an oven at a Goodwill store for $10, and a couple baking trays for another $2.