ANYONE USE STAINLESS STEEL MEDIA

For those who like to roll their own.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
Surgeon
Posts in topic: 4

ANYONE USE STAINLESS STEEL MEDIA

Post by Surgeon »

I've been reloading for several years and I'm always looking for better ways to clean and polish my spent brass...mostly .30 cal. Stuff. I've used crushed walnut in my vibrating tumbler after a long soak in hot water and Dove dish detergent and then rinse in water and then another bath in hot water and lemon juice (hey it works and makes it shinny). Then into the tumbler. But I'm exploring the stainless media and wanted to ask if a one has used it and what results.
Any and all feedback welcome. Thanks!
The military arsenal we will use to fight a World War IV ..... "stones" - Einstein

warnmar10
Posts in topic: 6

Re: ANYONE USE STAINLESS STEEL MEDIA

Post by warnmar10 »

I use stainless steel pin media. I like it very much. I don't use Lemi-Shine, just Dawn for dishes and water. Way more Dawn than you think it needs. I use ~2 table spoons of Dawn in my 17# tumbler and usually let them go 8-12 hours overnight. They get acceptably clean with less Dawn and less time but I like shiny stuff and the extra time makes them gleam.

FWIW - I decap, size and expand before placing them in the tumbler. After tumbling I apply home made case lube and run them 30-40 minutes in the 170 degree oven to dry.

Topic author
Surgeon

Post by Surgeon »

warnmar10 wrote:I use stainless steel pin media. I like it very much. I don't use Lemi-Shine, just Dawn for dishes and water. Way more Dawn than you think it needs. I use ~2 table spoons of Dawn in my 17# tumbler and usually let them go 8-12 hours overnight. They get acceptably clean with less Dawn and less time but I like shiny stuff and the extra time makes them gleam.

FWIW - I decap, size and expand before placing them in the tumbler. After tumbling I apply home made case lube and run them 30-40 minutes in the 170 degree oven to dry.