SCOTUS Refuses Jackson v. San Francisco. Undermining Heller

What's going on in Washington, D.C.?

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 4

SCOTUS Refuses Jackson v. San Francisco. Undermining Heller

Post by RoyGBiv »

SCOTUS Refuses to Hear Major Gun Rights Case, Clarence Thomas Files Sharp Dissent
The U.S. Supreme Court dealt Second Amendment supporters a major defeat today by refusing to hear an appeal filed by San Francisco gun owners seeking to overturn that city's requirement that all handguns kept at home and not carried on the owner’s person be "stored in a locked container or disabled with a trigger lock." Today’s action by the Court leaves that gun control ordinance on the books.
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin
Posts in topic: 2

Re: SCOTUS Refuses Jackson v. San Francisco. Undermining Hel

Post by Charles L. Cotton »

This is a very bad decision folks! Perhaps now those who insist on referring to unlicensed open-carry as "constitutional-carry" will stop.

Chas.

Beiruty
Posts in topic: 1

Post by Beiruty »

All what it means, that the government can regulate firearms, or the supreme court does not want to re-consider existing regulation in question.
Beiruty,
United we stand, dispersed we falter
2014: NRA Endowment lifetime member

jason812

Post by jason812 »

So in San Fransisco where anything that should stay in the bedroom is celebrated, the citizens there have their bedrooms regulated. I don't see how they can enforce this unless the popo's do random searches of people with registered firearms.

Our freedom is under constant attack.
In certain extreme situations, the law is inadequate. In order to shame its inadequacy, it is necessary to act outside the law to pursue a natural justice.

EEllis
Banned

Post by EEllis »