Another newbe

The "What Works, What Doesn't," "Recommendations & Experiences"

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
TominDallas
Posts in topic: 6

Another newbe

Post by TominDallas »

Hello, Tom here. 58 years in the DFW Texas area. Thirty years ago if you'd told me I'd consider carrying a gun around every day I'd have called you crazy! My wife and I sent our paperwork off for a Florida CHL this week. This world is not the same world I grew up in. I don't look forward to it. I think it'll be a nuisance. My wife's all gung-ho though. We have a pair of Walther CCP 9mm's and she has a Ruger MkIII .22, mainly for inexpensive trigger time. I'm seriously considering a .45 ACP which is not a friendly weapon to carry but it's effective for what it was made to do. The Walthers are pretty small and lightweight.
I'm studying on all the ramifications, when and where to carry. What to expect. What NOT to do. I appreciate this forum and I appreciate the information to be gleaned. Tom

longhorn86
Posts in topic: 3

Re: Another newbe

Post by longhorn86 »

First, welcome to the Forum!

May I ask why you refer to carrying a .45 as unfriendly?
NRA Life Member

Topic author
TominDallas

Post by TominDallas »

I thought about that wording, wondering if it was the correct term. Not really unfriendly, just seems like it might be a little bulky compared to what I have now. Been looking at various models and brands. I do want the weight and the full size to help with kickback. I've got a friend who's carried them since before there was a CHL law and he wears them inside his waistband. I wear my Walther 9mm inside my left ankle and the compact build allows me to almostforget it's there sometimes. I've been thinking for some time about where to put a full size ACP in the summer. Buy larger jeans and go inside the waistband or see if it will fit on my ankle like the Walther?

longhorn86

Post by longhorn86 »