4 Hour CHL?

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton, longtooth

4 Hour CHL?

Postby R_Comstock » Fri Feb 11, 2011 8:57 pm

Hey guys! Been a long time since I've posted here and admittedly, I haven't kept up with the changes to CHL over the last few months. There is a guy advertising on the radio in Corpus Christi that he can provide the necessary CHL training in 4 hours. Did the classroom requirement change recently or is this guy a bandit instructor?
The name's Ross! :)
---
9/20/09 CHL Class
9/21/09 Application mailed
9/23/09 Application received
10/26/09 Letter from DPS: Missing copy of military orders
10/30/09 PIN Received by mail
11/26/09 Application completed
12/03/09 Plastic in hand
........
Glock 23, Ruger LCP
NRA Life/TSRA Member
User avatar
R_Comstock
Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: Ingleside

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby Teamless » Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:07 pm

Teaching the UTAH Class most likely, get the UTAH license (until the new UTAH law goes into effect).
Webster, TX ----------Smith & Wesson M&P 9, .40 or .45 with various Crossbree or White Hat holsters
S&W Bodyguard .380 for pocket carry, Ruger Mark III 22/45
CHL Class In Houston/Galveston - see Tom Estep!
Yankee born, but got to Texas as fast as I could! NRA / PSC / IANAL
User avatar
Teamless
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:51 pm
Location: Webster, Texas

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby hirundo82 » Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:51 pm

10 hours of instruction are still required by law for initial licensure, and 4 hours for renewals. This guy is probably a Utah instructor--the list of Utah instructors shows four in the 361 area code.
"The President does not have power under the Constitution to unilaterally authorize a military attack in a situation that does not involve stopping an actual or imminent threat to the nation." Barack Obama, 12/20/2007
hirundo82
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 10:44 pm
Location: Houston

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby USA1 » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:19 pm

I've been hearing radio commercials about "four hour chl's" being offered at the gun show and wondered the same thing.
Glock Armorer - S&W M&P Armorer
User avatar
USA1
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7409
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:37 pm
Location: Tomball ,Texas

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby 05RKClass » Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:26 pm

I saw a poster board advertising 4-hour CHL at the last gun show in GRB. I was thinking UTAH, but still had my concerns about that path.

From the previous post - are they changing the law in Utah or here in Texas to hinder this setup?
07/02 FFL/SOT
NRA Life Member
Texas CHL Holder
05RKClass
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Webster, TX

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby Rebel » Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:41 pm

05RKClass wrote:I saw a poster board advertising 4-hour CHL at the last gun show in GRB. I was thinking UTAH, but still had my concerns about that path.

From the previous post - are they changing the law in Utah or here in Texas to hinder this setup?


Utah just made it necessary for a non resident applicant to 1st have a CFP/CHL/CCW whatever a state calls it from their home state prior to getting a Utah CFP. This only applies to States that have reciprocity with Utah such as Texas, this wouldn't apply to a resident of a state such as California, which doesn't recognize any other States permits.
Rebel
Senior Member
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:04 pm

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby Keith B » Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:57 am

Utah has now passed legislation that as of May 1, 2011, you must have a resident license from your state before you can get a Utah license. So, if your legal residence is Texas, then you will be required to hold a current and valid Texas CHL or you will not be able to get a Utah license. Those that already have a Utah license and no Texas license, you will have until Dec. 31, 2010 to renew your existing Utah license. After that date, you will be required to hold a residence license from your state first.
Keith
Texas CHL Instructor, NRA Life Member, NRA Certified Pistol Instructor and RSO

If it walks like a duck, and talks like a duck, you're drunk; Ducks don't talk.
User avatar
Keith B
Senior Member
 
Posts: 15076
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Plano, TX

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby Rebel » Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:20 am

Keith B wrote:Utah has now passed legislation that as of May 1, 2011, you must have a resident license from your state before you can get a Utah license. So, if your legal residence is Texas, then you will be required to hold a current and valid Texas CHL or you will not be able to get a Utah license. Those that already have a Utah license and no Texas license, you will have until Dec. 31, 2010 to renew your existing Utah license. After that date, you will be required to hold a residence license from your state first.


Did you mean Dec. 31, 2012?

Unless someone has a time machine I can borrow the 2010 is going to be a problem. :lol:
Rebel
Senior Member
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:04 pm

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby Keith B » Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:30 am

Rebel wrote:
Keith B wrote:Utah has now passed legislation that as of May 1, 2011, you must have a resident license from your state before you can get a Utah license. So, if your legal residence is Texas, then you will be required to hold a current and valid Texas CHL or you will not be able to get a Utah license. Those that already have a Utah license and no Texas license, you will have until Dec. 31, 2010 to renew your existing Utah license. After that date, you will be required to hold a residence license from your state first.


Did you mean Dec. 31, 2012?

Unless someone has a time machine I can borrow the 2010 is going to be a problem. :lol:


Sorry, typo. I meant 2011 (end of this year.)
Keith
Texas CHL Instructor, NRA Life Member, NRA Certified Pistol Instructor and RSO

If it walks like a duck, and talks like a duck, you're drunk; Ducks don't talk.
User avatar
Keith B
Senior Member
 
Posts: 15076
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Plano, TX

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby Rebel » Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:33 am

Keith B wrote:
Rebel wrote:
Keith B wrote:Utah has now passed legislation that as of May 1, 2011, you must have a resident license from your state before you can get a Utah license. So, if your legal residence is Texas, then you will be required to hold a current and valid Texas CHL or you will not be able to get a Utah license. Those that already have a Utah license and no Texas license, you will have until Dec. 31, 2010 to renew your existing Utah license. After that date, you will be required to hold a residence license from your state first.


Did you mean Dec. 31, 2012?

Unless someone has a time machine I can borrow the 2010 is going to be a problem. :lol:


Sorry, typo. I meant 2011 (end of this year.)


Just to clarify,

Taken from Crossfire in Utah solved thread
Effective May 10, 2011, New Non-Resident Utah CFP applicants will have to include a copy of their current resident permit to qualify for a Utah CFP.

Effective Jan 1, 2012, Non-Resident RENEWAL applicants will also have to submit a copy of their current resident permit.
Rebel
Senior Member
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:04 pm

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby Keith B » Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:41 am

OK, May 10 vs. May 1, and Dec 31 is still the last day to renew without a resident CHL from your state.
Keith
Texas CHL Instructor, NRA Life Member, NRA Certified Pistol Instructor and RSO

If it walks like a duck, and talks like a duck, you're drunk; Ducks don't talk.
User avatar
Keith B
Senior Member
 
Posts: 15076
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Plano, TX

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby Mr.ViperBoa » Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:33 pm

I love it! it means all those who chose to get a Utah license because it was faster will now have to do the Texas class anyway. :hurry:
Christian/Family man
Veteran
CHL Instructor
http://www.texaschlsolutions.com/
Mr.ViperBoa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:29 pm
Location: Bedford, Texas

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby OldSchool » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:14 pm

And, maybe now the Four-Hour Gent won't be so bellicose. :cheers2:
http://www.texaschlforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=40538&hilit=+4+hour#p486809
Life is for learning.
IANAL, thank gosh!
NRA Life Member - TSRA - PSC
NRA Certified Basic Rifle Instructor, Chief Range Safety Officer

12/23/2009: Packets delivered.
01/15/2010: Plastic in hand!
User avatar
OldSchool
Senior Member
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: Brazoria County

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby Bart » Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:06 pm

The "4 Hour CHL" is false advertising because Utah doesn't issue a CHL. If the "4 Hour CHL" guys are a real problem, the answer isn't new laws in Texas. The remedy already exists for deceptive trade practices.

I'm tempted to offer a three hour concealed carry class. :evil2: I'm not a Utah instructor, so the new Utah law doesn't affect me, but I am certified to teach a class that satisfies the training requirement for at least one state that has reciprocity with Texas.
Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.
User avatar
Bart
Senior Member
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: Deep in the Heart

Re: 4 Hour CHL?

Postby jmra » Sat Feb 12, 2011 7:50 pm

There was a large banner at the Fort Worth show today stating 4 hour classes with no written test, no range requirement, and $10 renewal. Two ladies sitting behind the table. Didn't see anyone approach the table the several times I passed by. I thought about asking if they had a plan B, but left well enough alone. I probably should do that more often.
Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid.
John Wayne
NRA Lifetime member
User avatar
jmra
Senior Member
 
Posts: 8105
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:51 am
Location: Ellis County

Next

Return to General Texas CHL Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: StewNTexas and 4 guests