Buying a gun being a CHL and permanent resident

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
Texicano
Posts in topic: 2

Buying a gun being a CHL and permanent resident

Post by Texicano »

I recently bought a gun and obtained my CHL a while after. For both it required extra steps. The CHL just required a photocopy of my greencard. For the gun I had to wait 3 days and more painfully gather the last 3 months of a utility bill because I'm a permanent resident. It had to have my address and name on it. The reason it was a chore was that I do most of my payments online, and the bills I did have either only had the address or name and address on them by themselves but not both. Either way I'm just not good at keeping paperwork but if I have to do it again I will. Now my question is this, I've heard that with a CHL there is no longer a background check, but since I am a permanent resident I'm wondering if I still need to get the last 3 months of bills together now that I have my CHL. Any permanent residents out there with their CHL that know??

Cool Arrow
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Buying a gun being a CHL and permanent resident

Post by Cool Arrow »

Hello Texicano, Welcome aboard! I am sure someone with more knowledge will be along soon.

C-dub

Post by C-dub »

The NICS check is not required with a CHL, but we've heard from others here that not all stores abide by that saying that it is store policy to perform the NICS check regardless. When that came to light, some have said thanks, but no thanks and took their business elsewhere.
I am not and have never been a LEO. My avatar is in honor of my friend, Dallas Police Sargent Michael Smith, who was murdered along with four other officers in Dallas on 7.7.2016.
NRA Patriot-Endowment Lifetime Member---------------------------------------------Si vis pacem, para bellum.................................................Patriot Guard Rider

Beiruty