Grapevine Excludes CCL at Grapefest - Help end this Practice

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
Ponderosa
Posts in topic: 1

Grapevine Excludes CCL at Grapefest - Help end this Practice

Post by Ponderosa »

The citizens of Texas have worked hard to secure CCL rights. History has shown us that individual cities are working to take them away.

This fall, the City of Grapevine posted 30.06 signs at Grapefest (a popular community event held on six blocks of Main Street). In doing so they prevent CCL holders from exercising their right to carry.

I am a Texas Attorney and experienced trial lawyer. I have carefully researched this matter and I believe that the City's decision is outside of the law. I have exchanged letters with the City Attorney and while he has been professional in his communications, he continues to assert that the City has the right to exclude CCL holders. I disagree.

A small group has asked me to bring suit against the City. I am willing to take on this case pro-bono (without charge), but I need the assistance of someone who has experience in this area of law (I have none).

If you are a Texas attorney willing to assist me with this matter, please contact me. If you know a Texas attorney who may be interested in this matter, please forward this post to them

Thank you.

Ponderosa

RPB
Banned

Re: Grapevine Excludes CCL at Grapefest - Help end this Prac

Post by RPB »

Welcome to the forum

I'm no lawyer, (retired Legal Asst - 25 years) but Preemption has been discussed previously here ... see form letter here for applicable State and Federal citations/statues etc
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=49133&p=603067&hili ... er#p603067" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;