DPS approval before CHL Class

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
mjmbabb
Posts in topic: 4

DPS approval before CHL Class

Post by mjmbabb »

I just applied online for my CHL and now I think I may be ineligible. Will I receive anything from the DPS that I am not eligible before I spend more money for a class?

Thanks,

Crossfire
Posts in topic: 3

Re: DPS approval before CHL Class

Post by Crossfire »

No
Texas LTC Instructor, FFL, IdentoGO Fingerprinting Partner
http://www.Crossfire-Training.com

RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 1

Post by RoyGBiv »

If you feel like providing the details, the folks here can be helpful in pointing you in the correct direction.
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

Topic author
mjmbabb

Post by mjmbabb »

I have a dui that was plead down to deadly conduct deferred which got my first license suspended and then revoked because of the amount of time it took to dispose of the case. My attorney assured me that deadly conduct would keep me eligible but now I see others saying it is a denial. I just don't want to throw good money after bad if I am not going to be eligible. Seems like they would take my 140 bucks and at least tell me that it was a gift to the state without also wasting my money and chl instructors time on a lost cause.

Keith B

Post by Keith B »

If you were convicted of Deadly Conduct under Penal Code 22.05 (a), then that is a Class A misdemeanor. If it was a Class A, then your CHL would be revoked. However, i believe you should be eligible again for a CHL 7 years from the date of conviction unless there are other circumstances prohibiting you from being eligible.
Keith
Texas LTC Instructor, Missouri CCW Instructor, NRA Certified Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun Instructor and RSO, NRA Life Member

Psalm 82:3-4

Topic author
mjmbabb

Post by mjmbabb »