Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
jeffrw
Posts in topic: 2

Combined 30.06 and 30.07 sign

Post by jeffrw »

Today I noticed the following sign at my doctor's office:
20160121_115102-1.jpg
For those unable to view the picture, the English text reads: "Pursuant to Sections 30.06 and 30.07 Penal Code (Trespass by License Holder with a Handgun), a person licensed under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code (Handgun Licensing Law), may not enter this property with a concealed handgun or a handgun that is carried openly." (The equivalent Spanish follows.)

As you can see, the 30.06 and 30.07 language has been combined, attempting to ban both concealed and open carry in one sign instead of two separate signs. Is this a valid notification?

cbunt1
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Combined 30.06 and 30.07 sign

Post by cbunt1 »

I am not a lawyer, I don't play one on TV, and I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn last night, BUT...

By the letter of the law, it's not an enforceable posting.

By the spirit of the law, I can't believe it's an enforceable posting.

I would speculate that an attempt to openly carry a pistol would result in an oral notification which would of course be enforceable should you fail to leave the premises.

My guess is that before this is all over, we might finally have some of that 30.06/30.07 case law we've never had before, eventually ending some of the mass speculation.

And all this is just one layman's opinion...
American by birth, Texan by the grace of God!

Jago668

Post by Jago668 »

I agree with cbunt1. By law not legal, and if you open carry you're going to get asked to leave if they don't just call the police first thing out.
NRA Benefactor Member

Scott in Houston

Post by Scott in Houston »

I would still CC if I was forced to be in there for some reason, but as said above, I wouldn't OC (technically I will almost never OC anyway but you get the point).