Legal definition of "educational institution"

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

ScottDLS
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Legal definition of "educational institution"

Post by ScottDLS »

Yes. It's a zoo, city park, daycare center, or anywhere else where "THE CHILDREN (anyone under 26)" are present. :rules:

Why would anyone guns around "THE CHILDREN"? :confused5
4/13/1996 Completed CHL Class, 4/16/1996 Fingerprints, Affidavits, and Application Mailed, 10/4/1996 Received CHL, renewed 1998, 2002, 2006, 2011, 2016...). "ATF... Uhhh...heh...heh....Alcohol, tobacco, and GUNS!! Cool!!!!"

WildBill
Posts in topic: 2

Post by WildBill »

ScottDLS wrote:Yes. It's a zoo, city park, daycare center, or anywhere else where "THE CHILDREN (anyone under 26)" are present. :rules:

Why would anyone guns around "THE CHILDREN"? :confused5
I was 22 years old when I graduated from college. Back then I never considered myself a children.
When I look back, my perception may have changed. a bit. :evil2:
NRA Endowment Member

ELB

Post by ELB »

The Attorney General partially addressed this question in a Ruling Letter to the Elgin Independent School District. His letter does not provide a complete definition, since he was only trying to determine if a school administration building that has no students is an educational institution for the purposes of Section 46.03 (he determined it is), but his letter gives some references about the subject.

I think you can safely conclude that an independent school district is an "educational institution" for the purposes of open or concealed carry, but it's not certain that's all that qualifies.

The relevant section is this:
Section 46.03 of the Penal Code does not define school or educational
institution. In other contexts, Texas law defines "educational institution"' to include a school
district. El. TEX. GOV'T CODE § 552.114; Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 6228a-5, § 4(2); Tex.