Reckless Driving in Virginia a Criminal Offense?

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
texasfrog
Posts in topic: 3

Reckless Driving in Virginia a Criminal Offense?

Post by texasfrog »

Hi everyone,

I'm a new resident of TX and I'm getting ready to apply for my LTC. Quick question, I received a "reckless driving" misdemeanor in 2007 in Virginia for speeding 82mph in a 55mph zone. For those that don't know, if you speed more than 20 mph over the limit in Virginia, it's an automatic "reckless driving" misdemeanor (pretty harsh in my opinion). Since I'm military and wasn't stationed in Virginia at the time, I had to pay a lawyer to show up in court for me. I was convicted and had to pay a $242 fee. I received no jail time, no arrest, no probation.

On my LTC application there is a question "Have you ever been arrested or charged with a crime?" Should I put yes? I have never had a problem with this 2007 reckless driving charge, even with a secret clearance with the military. I don't know if my reckless driving charge is considered a "criminal offense."

Thanks in advance.

Keith B
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Reckless Driving in Virginia a Criminal Offense?

Post by Keith B »

Welcome to the forum. :tiphat:

Reckless driving in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is equivalent to a Class A in Texas. You will need to list it on your application, and get a certified copy of the disposition of the charge from the county in Virginia in which the offense occurred.

That said, because it was in 2007, it is more than 5 years ago, so you should be OK to go in this case
Keith
Texas LTC Instructor, Missouri CCW Instructor, NRA Certified Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun Instructor and RSO, NRA Life Member

Psalm 82:3-4

imkopaka

Post by imkopaka »