My Wife Now Has PTSD

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
Keith B
Posts in topic: 8

My Wife Now Has PTSD

Post by Keith B »

Many of you remember the New York Times reporter who claimed he had a form of PTSD after shooting an AR-15, well my wife has it now. I will explain, but first some history:

We have been married for 35 years, and we dated for 3 1/2 years prior. When we were dating I was a reserve police officer. She had shot various guns a little with her family, and I took her shooting a couple of times. She was a good shot, understood the safety and operation of the firearms, but just wasn't that interested in shooting for fun. Once we were married we moved. I resigned my police officers commission so longer was shooting PPC competition. Frankly I was burned out at that time, so got out of shooting, except for hunting, for many years.

After we moved Texas in 1998 they had already passed the CHL legislation. I got interested again and got my CHL and became an instructor. She still didn't have any interest in shooting or guns overall, but supported me and my endeavors.

Fast forward. After I retired 3 years ago I opened a couple of businesses as well as continuing my firearms instruction. She took a job running the office for a friend who has a construction business. These keep us busy and let us make some 'fun money' during retirement.

A couple of months ago the construction company had a couple of employees who got fired for drug use. She was a little uneasy being at the office by herself unarmed, so decided she might want to go ahead and get her license. I was having a class for some of the folks at our church about a month later so she became a student. I will only allow 5 shooters at a time during qualification, and she made the 11th student. We decided to let the others shoot in the two groups of 5 and she would sit out and I would do her qualification later.