New To Hunting: A few questions

Post your hunting/trophy photos here, and tell us a little about your trip. WARNING: Some photos will be graphic.

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
Reds45ACP
Posts in topic: 1

New To Hunting: A few questions

Post by Reds45ACP »

I've decided to try my hand at hunting. I read another thread with a VERY similar situation: Grew up in Kalifornia (Glad to be away from there), did a bit of varmint hunting (jack rabbits on alfalfa farms) but never medium game. It was helpful but I have a few other questions.

I am interested in hunting whitetail deer. I'm not interested in "trophies" so I don't think I want to shoot bucks but I'm not sure how one goes about getting a license/permission for does if that is even needed. (Seriously, I am REALLY new to this).

I don't want to go with one of those sleep in a cushy cabin, turn on the feeder and the they come running operations. I'd like to do a bit of camping and I want to have to learn to deal with the deer after the kill as well. That is equally important as far as I'm concerned. I've made friends with a guy who has gone hunting tons and has the equipment to deal with the deer. He is having trouble finding a decent place for us to go. Any advice on where to look in the Central Texas area?
Hello. My name is Red and I used to carry a .45. Now I carry a 9mm and it's getting easier to admit every day.

Beiruty

Re: New To Hunting: A few questions

Post by Beiruty »

You need:
1) A $25 hunting license if you have been living in Texas for the last 6 months or have a valid TX driving license.
2) You either pay $0 and have a friend who has access to hunting ground, or
3) You pay $49 for a public land permit and you try your luck, or
4) You pay $$$ for hunting lease (share with other hunters) and may have a chance if the owner was feeding or had planted feeding plots, or