any bow hunters out there?

Topics that do not fit anywhere else. Absolutely NO discussions of religion, race, or immigration!

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

any bow hunters out there?

Postby glock27 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:45 pm

Hey all,
I am new to compound bows right now they are pretty much another language to me.

I have looked at a few at Cabelas, I am needing a 70# bow. the one i looked at was a 750$ quest bow only. YIKES~!

I am wanting to spend less than $400 for a package. whisper biscuit, sights, etc.

the guy at cabelas seemed that the "stabilizer bar" that holds the strings in place to keep them from moving was an important piece. im not sure what it is called. how important is this?

im looking online and have no direction of what too look for in a bow. i noticed most package bows have 3 pin sights. does that mean 10,20,30 yards or can you set each individual pin to any distance?

a few i have come across are the PSE stinger, diamond infinite.

are bows that have a long range of poundage adjustment less dependable. mine would be left at 70#, i have seen some that are adjustable from 5-70 seems strange.

just looking for some good insight on a good bang for the buck for a new bowsman, it will be used for deer, hog, coyote, and maybe one day larger game. and lots of backyard shooting. also a good axle size suggestion and what axle size effects other than compact-ability.

thanks
"Dont rush me, i get paid by the hour"
Mailed 7-5-10
9-16-10 PLASTIC!
glock27

Re: any bow hunters out there?

Postby Txfire409 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:14 pm

avid bow hunter here as well. like guns, you can spend alot or a little on a good bow setup. my best advice is to visit texasbowhunter.com, you can get alot of good info there.
Txfire409

Postby pbwalker » Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:16 pm

+1 on texasbowhunter. I just sold my PSE and am picking up another PSE. I buy used from a friend who upgrades fairly often, but like Txfire409 said, it can be expensive.