smoking and cure and age game...

Topics that do not fit anywhere else. Absolutely NO discussions of religion, race, or immigration!

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

TomsTXCHL
Posts in topic: 3

Re: smoking and cure and age game...

Post by TomsTXCHL »

glock27 wrote:Im a rookie chef and enjoy cooking as a hobby.
I am NOT a chef, but love smoked meat and bought a Bradley smoker. The rap against Bradleys is that you have to buy there wood "hocky pucks" (bisquettes) but other than that I can say the thing is fantastic i.e. the best pulled pork, and the best smoked chickens, that I have ever had are the ones that *I* have made with the Bradley.

They're not particularly "manly" i.e. they are banned from use in smoking contests, but electric smokers are wonderful things... :drool:

Abraham
Posts in topic: 2

Post by Abraham »

glock27,

I'm curious. You said: "Recently aquired a hog. Im planning on having many more."

By that, do you mean you shot and killed a hog or some kind someone is doing the killing and giving you the hog?

As to field dressing knives, have a look at Havalon knives. They use replaceable razor sharp blades.

If such isn't for you, look at Knives of Alaska. I'm partial to the Muskrat - Suregrip for skinning and fleshing.

TomsTXCHL

Post by TomsTXCHL »

The Bradley smoker is trivially easy to use. When I first got it I would insert a remote-monitored thermometer into the meat but now I know "a pork butt takes all day" (e.g. load it in the early morning and it's ready for dinner) and whatnot. Their bisquettes I buy from Amazon by the case e.g. 120pack for ~$36 bucks and a bisquette is used every 20 minutes, so for example if I cook something for 10 hours I might use 6-8 hours of smoke i.e. 18-24 bisquettes or about $5-7 worth of bisquettes. Given that even a cheap, small pork butt lasts us a few days, I don't worry about the bisquette cost, though others will complain about it. And I probably use more smoke than I need to anyway.