Solar roadways

Topics that do not fit anywhere else. Absolutely NO discussions of religion, race, or immigration!

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
jmra
Posts in topic: 2

Solar roadways

Post by jmra »

Wouldn't mind having this on my driveway.
[youtube][/youtube]
Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid.
John Wayne
NRA Lifetime member

RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 5

Re: Solar roadways

Post by RoyGBiv »

Very interesting idea, but there are lots of engineering and fiscal obstacles to overcome.

http://www.extremetech.com/extreme/1831 ... crazy-idea" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

Topic author
jmra

Post by jmra »

RoyGBiv wrote:Very interesting idea, but there are lots of engineering and fiscal obstacles to overcome.

http://www.extremetech.com/extreme/1831 ... crazy-idea" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
I understand, but it would be neat to have in the driveway and around the pool.
Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid.
John Wayne
NRA Lifetime member

baldeagle
Posts in topic: 4

Post by baldeagle »

RoyGBiv wrote:Very interesting idea, but there are lots of engineering and fiscal obstacles to overcome.

That article looks entirely at the cost side and not at the benefit side. The real question with solar power is what is the ROI. If you combine solar power with smart roadways, as they suggest, you gain efficiencies you can't get in other ways. So the idea isn't quite as far fetched as the article suggests.

The article includes this:
Rooftop solar arrays are reaching the point where they’re actually quite cost effective in certain parts of the world — and they’re much, much cheaper than building a Solar Roadway — but adoption is still very low.