Knife Carry Questions

Topics that do not fit anywhere else. Absolutely NO discussions of religion, race, or immigration!

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 11

Knife Carry Questions

Post by RoyGBiv »

I'm new to knives. Been carrying a 3.5" folder for about 6 months now, my first ever EDC knife.
Now that I have some experience, I'm considering moving to a 3.5-4.0" fixed blade with a proper EDC carry sheath.

I started carrying a knife for those times when I cannot carry a gun (schools, customers, the occasional errand, etc.).

I just want to make sure my understanding of the law is correct.

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/D ... /PE.46.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

As I understand things currently, I can carry a "legal" knife into schools without fear of committing a crime, since only "illegal knives" are prohibited in schools (46.03), unless you're a student and subject to school weapons policy (separate issue, don't want to discuss that here).
(6) "Illegal knife" means a:
(A) knife with a blade over five and one-half inches;
(B) hand instrument designed to cut or stab another by being thrown;
(C) dagger, including but not limited to a dirk, stiletto, and poniard;
(D) bowie knife;
(E) sword; or
(F) spear.
Same for places that post 30.06 signs, bars, etc... Knife carry is ok as long as the knife isn't "illegal".

Am I missing something that might land me in trouble?

Thanks! :tiphat:
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

C-dub
Posts in topic: 6

Re: Knife Carry Questions

Post by C-dub »

Other than the secure area of an airport, I can't think of any other places that are strictly off limits for legal pocket knives. There are places that prohibit them, like courthouses as mentioned in another thread, but that will be their own rules.