Why Are Custom Plates So Expensive in TX?

Topics that do not fit anywhere else. Absolutely NO discussions of religion, race, or immigration!

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 7

Why Are Custom Plates So Expensive in TX?

Post by RoyGBiv »

Y'all are a tuned-in bunch, maybe you can help me figure out the reason....

The cost of a 6-letter, personalized, "Don't Tread On Me" Texas license plate is $90/year with a 5 year minimum.
$450 to place an order. :banghead:

My NC personalized plates were $30/year in addition to the registration cost. Payable every year when I paid my registration, not 5 years up front. In VA the cost of a "Special" plate is only $10/year extra ($20 if you personalize it).. Also paid annually.

Why is Texas so expensive?
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

Syntyr
Posts in topic: 2

Re: Why Are Custom Plates So Expensive in TX?

Post by Syntyr »

I am interested as well. I was going to get STR SHP to put on my Porsche 911 so dont take it... Then again its not likey i will ever get my 911 so you can have it!
Syntyr
"Wherever you go... There you are." - Buckaroo Banzai
"Inconceivable!" - Fizzinni

Abraham

Post by Abraham »

Roy,

Don't know, but we're not in NC or VA.

I'm not being flippant or ugly, but when I see posts about other states and how they do it, whatever "it" may constitute, I just shake my head.

Please note, until I posted no one has criticized your post.

Why do suppose that is?

Answer: We're in Texas and not some other state.

I too find some things not to my liking, but overall I wouldn't want to live anywhere else.

Now, pay up or do without.

Besides, customized plates are very tough for our prisoners to produce.

Sheesh!

G26ster

Post by G26ster »