Austin's Proposition 2

This is the place for discussion specifically addressing state & local elections in Texas.

Moderator: Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
NcongruNt
Posts in topic: 2

Austin's Proposition 2

Post by NcongruNt »

Hey everyone. I wanted to see if I could garner some opinions on this specific issue.

For those not in the know, Proposition 2 deals with tax breaks/subsidies to very large development and management companies to encourage building in certain areas of the city. The proposition itself is to amend the city charter to prevent any of these kinds of deals in the future, as well as the revocation of a specific deal made recently (The Domain).

The mayor (a liberal democrat) has come out vehemently against the proposition, arguing that it would open up the city to big legal costs relating to lawsuits, as well as affecting the city's credit rating, and "breaking" the city's "word".

I am no fan of corporate welfare, and that's what these deals are. I am also a proponent of local and small business. The developments the city attracts with these deals brings in large corporate chains to fill the properties, no local or small business at all, taking the profits out of town and out of state.

I am no fan of the mayor, either. His campaign culled the SXSW Interactive contact list and summarily spammed everyone local with campaign letters. When I wrote an e-mail to the campaign manager and copied the (now) mayor at his city council address, they responded lying through their teeth about how they got my address and told me that I had double-opted-in to receive the mails. I responded by telling him that he has ensured that he will not receive my vote (which he didn't, but won the election anyway).

Lots and lots of local businesses support this, including owners who are personal friends of mine.

I'm leaning towards voting for the proposition, but don't want to make an uninformed choice here. Arguments either way are welcome.