Reciprocal and Unilateral

Discussion of other state's CHL's & reciprocity

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
BMWGSRider
Posts in topic: 1

Reciprocal and Unilateral

Post by BMWGSRider »

I am still learning the ropes so I apologize in advance if this is posted in the wrong forum and/or sounds "dumb" on my part...

Reading the Texas DPS website it talks about Reciprocal and Unilateral: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administra ... rocity.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Can one please explain Reciprocal and Unilateral so I can understand it better...

Thanks in advance.

cbr600

Re: Reciprocal and Unilateral

Post by cbr600 »

deleted
Last edited by cbr600 on Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

OldCannon

Post by OldCannon »

Some folks have a hard time understanding why it's not always reciprocal, so I'll give an example:

In Texas, if you are under 21, you may STILL be a CHL holder if you are a member of the armed forces (or honorably discharged). In the state of Washington, this is a big no-no. However, Texas unilaterally recognizes Washington CCL. If Washington recognized the Texas CHL, they would be allowing somebody to carry in a way that could genuinely get them arrested (conflicting laws like that are considered very bad by prosecutors, but trial lawyers love them ;-) )

If you're a Texas resident, you cannot concealed carry in Washington with your Texas CHL. You would need a license from Arkansas, Florida, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Utah, or (obviously) Washington,
I don't fear guns; I fear voters and politicians that fear guns.

Dave2
Posts in topic: 8

Post by Dave2 »

lkd wrote:If you're a Texas resident, you cannot concealed carry in Washington with your Texas CHL. You would need a license from Arkansas, Florida, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Utah, or (obviously) Washington,