TX: People and pets being shot with BB guns at Sienna Plantation

Reports of actual crimes and investigations, not hypothetical situations.

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
philip964
Posts in topic: 2

TX: People and pets being shot with BB guns at Sienna Plantation

Post by philip964 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:17 am

Apparently teens are riding around in cars in the Sienna Plantation near Houston and shooting people and pets with BB Guns.

It seems in Texas that this would be a very dangerous thing for a teen to do.

Would it be legal to use deadly force to defend yourself?

remanifest
Posts in topic: 3

Re: TX: People and pets being shot with BB guns at Sienna Plantation

Post by remanifest » Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:50 am

philip964 wrote:Would it be legal to use deadly force to defend yourself?
I would think so, judging from our penal code: http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/S ... m/PE.9.htm

I am no lawyer, but it seems to me that if someone is committing a felony, and you're not necessarily able to perceive the caliber of weapon they're firing as they're riding around, you could return fire. The issue is with pursuit - I am nearly 100% certain that if you left in pursuit of them, and then used deadly force, you'd be guilty of a crime.
"They will not force us, and they will stop degrading us. They will not control us, and we will be victorious. Rise up and take the power back. We have to unify and watch our flag ascend."
- Muse - Uprising

Mike S

Post by Mike S » Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:53 am

philip964 wrote:
To use deadly force would require that you reasonably believe that it is immediately necessary, and that you or another is in jeopardy of death or serious bodily injury. I doubt a BB gun would (other than the rarest of circumstances) cause death; however it could easily put out an eye which I believe would meet the definition of...'permanent or protracted loss of an organ or bodily function..' (I'm paraphrasing).