972 on Senate "Regular Order of Business"

This sub-forum will open for posting on Sept. 1, 2012.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
Owens
Posts in topic: 2

972 on Senate "Regular Order of Business"

Post by Owens »

Looks like it could come for a senate vote today ...If I read this right.

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83 ... 130516.htm
Life Member NRA, TSRA

RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 1

Re: 972 on Senate "Regular Order of Business"

Post by RoyGBiv »

Holy bovine... That looks like a busy day.
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin

Post by Charles L. Cotton »

Here is a copy of my post on another thread explaining that the "Regular Order of Business" calendar means nothing. It will be coming up for debate only when it appears on the Intent Calendar. Even then it must get 21 votes to be heard.

Chas.
Charles L. Cotton wrote:The Regular Order of Business Calendar is never used. The 21 vote rule in the Senate requires 21 votes to suspend the regular order of business and take something out of order. Since they never work off the Regular Order of Business Calendar, nothing comes to the floor unless it has 21 votes to debate it. In other words, every bill that is considered in the Senate is taken "out of order."

I was worried that my reporting sources missed something and that the bill status page was wrong. SB481 shows to have been placed on the Intent Calendar twice, meaning the author intended to move to suspend the regular order of business to consider SB481. Sen. Hinojosa withdrew it, and it hasn't been placed back on the Intent Calendar.

Thanks,
Chas.

Topic author
Owens
Posts in topic: 2

Post by Owens »

Just caught that and was about to post your excellent info. Thanks Charles.
Life Member NRA, TSRA

cmwoodruff

Post by cmwoodruff »

My favorite...

HCR 102 (LC) Miller, Doug SP: Fraser