USSA in Tulsa

General training discussions and class reviews.

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
gunfando
Posts in topic: 3

USSA in Tulsa

Post by gunfando »

I know it says Texas forum,but my wife was looking at this place and i wanted to see if anyone had knowledge on this program. Looks like if you have never taken a class with them you have to do a basic class which reads like a handguns 101. Any info good or bad doesn't matter to me it is all good. :thumbs2:
Thanks

apostate
Posts in topic: 1

Re: USSA in Tulsa

Post by apostate »

It's a nice facility. I was there twice for Rangemaster conferences and it seemed well run. I have no experience with their training, however.

Topic author
gunfando

Post by gunfando »

Thanks for the info, on their web site it looked pretty nice I believe they said 93 acres. Just seeing if anybody could compare to anything in Texas.
Brian

yerasimos

Post by yerasimos »

The instructors there at USSA are/were current or former .mil/LE, and almost always highly accomplished in IPSC or IDPA, and consequently very, very adept at shooting/manipulating handguns. I would characterize the coaching and instruction as aggressive at times, but not overly so. I considered the class/range operation as very safety conscious---in truth, the best disciplined classes I have seen anywhere so far.

When I attended, I was not required to attend and pass any "Intro to Handguns/Basic Gun Safety 101" course.

I know that Gunsite (in Arizona), Thunder Ranch (in Oregon) and even Front Sight (in Nevada) have their advocates, but I reckon you could get a similar (or better!) experience at USSA, with less travel expense and hassle for most Texans. I cannot say that I have attended anything similar in Texas, nor Gunsite, Thunder Ranch or Front Sight---but then again, I have not sought such.