What do you mean "don't vote early!!!?"

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin
Posts in topic: 2

What do you mean "don't vote early!!!?"

Post by Charles L. Cotton »

I received an email from someone I will not identify, but some would know his name. He is calling for gun owners NOT to vote early and his reasoning is . . . well . . . it's faulty. He claims that something could happen between the time you vote early and the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 4th. If you've already voted, you'll be "locked out." He also claims that there's more of an impact if you vote on Nov. 4th, rather than during the early voting period.

Now do you see what I mean by "faulty" reasoning? This is hands down the worst advice I've ever read about voting!!! I've been voting age (21 when I was young) for 43 years. Let's see; during those 43 years has anything happened during the early voting period that would have changed my vote had I waited a few more days to vote in November? No, not one single time.

On the other hand, have I been sick, out of town, or for some other reason unable to vote on the first Tuesday in November? Why yes, many times. When I been forced to vote in November because I was out of town during the early voting period, have I ever seen 1) lines at the polls so long I was tempted to give up and go home; 2) others in line give up and go home; 3) problems with the voting machine that made the wait even longer; or 4) bad weather making it miserable to wait in line outside? The answer to all of these questions is "yes." Oh yeah, I have researched the subject extensively and have yet to find any indication that a vote cast on Nov. 4th counts more than one cast during the early voting period.