A little help

A meeting place for CHL instructors

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
ericsu19
Posts in topic: 1

A little help

Post by ericsu19 »

I have been instructing now for 6 months. I have really enjoyed the classes. I have one thing that just don't make sense and hope on of you can help me.

A PERSON IS JUSTIFIED IN USING FORCE AND DEADLY FORCE TO PERSERVE THE OTHER’S LIFE IN AN EMERGENCY.

Little help please.

CompVest

Re: A little help

Post by CompVest »

Would you please expand on your question. Where that phrase comes from and in what context? And could you please be a little more specific about what you would like explained concerning the phrase
Women on the DRAW – drill, revise, attain, win
Coached Practice Sessions for Women

WildBill

Post by WildBill »

PENAL CODE
TITLE 2. GENERAL PRINCIPLES OF CRIMINAL RESPONSIBILITY
CHAPTER 9. JUSTIFICATION EXCLUDING CRIMINAL RESPONSIBILITY
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sec. 9.34. PROTECTION OF LIFE OR HEALTH. (a) A person is justified in using force, but not deadly force, against another when and to the degree he reasonably believes the force is immediately necessary to prevent the other from committing suicide or inflicting serious bodily injury to himself.

(b) A person is justified in using both force and deadly force against another when and to the degree he reasonably believes the force or deadly force is immediately necessary to preserve the other's life in an emergency.
NRA Endowment Member

seamusTX

Post by seamusTX »

I think this provision is meant to allow for medical procedures like emergency tracheotomy, which would be considered deadly force if not done for a reasonable medical purpose. However, I am not a lawyer, don't play one on TV, and didn't stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night.

- Jim
Fear, anger, hatred, and greed. The devil's all-you-can-eat buffet.

KRM45

Post by KRM45 »