Burris FastFire 3 vs EOTech 512

Holsters and firearms-related gear and accessories, reloading equipment & supplies, ammo

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
Lleshon
Posts in topic: 1

Burris FastFire 3 vs EOTech 512

Post by Lleshon »

I'm looking for a red dot/holo optic and came across the two optics mentioned here. Based on the specs, Burris FastFire 3 seems to be pretty good, if not better than the EOTech.

Burris FF3 advantages
Nearly half the price. $200 vs $345 (best deal I've found so far on 512)
Lighter at ~1oz
Longer battery life. 10,000 hrs vs 1000
Less obstructed FOV. Since FF3 is thinner, it obstructs less view than EOTech

EOTech 512 advantages
Better/clearer glass
1 MOA (depending on who you ask, I guess)
Can use AA battery

I'm a bit of a noob so I might be missing something. I also don't have experience with either of them so I can only judge based on spec sheets and youtube videos. Can someone explain to me why an EOTech is worth the extra $150? Even if they were priced similarly, I feel like the Burris can still be comparable to the EOTech especially because of its weight and battery life. Thoughts?

bubba84

Re: Burris FastFire 3 vs EOTech 512

Post by bubba84 »

I had the FF3 on a pistol. It stays “on” but goes to sleep. It will power on with movement. The action of drawing from the holster would wake it up. I could never beat it. It was always on by the time I presented. Even tried to “sneak up on it” by drawing slowly and lightly.

Ive owned both but never had a micro dot on a rifle so i cant speak to that.

jb2012

Post by jb2012 »

I wouldn’t recommend eotech or burris. I’m more of an aimpoint or trijicon guy. For almost the same price you can find a used aimpoint pro that is almost indestructible. You can find comp m2’s on tacswap for $200 +/- $50 pretty often. Trijicon MROs can be found for $300 if you look hard enough.

strogg

Post by strogg »