Does Using an NFA Item in a Personal Defense Situation Put You in More Legal Jeopardy?

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
Paladin
Posts in topic: 2

Does Using an NFA Item in a Personal Defense Situation Put You in More Legal Jeopardy?

Post by Paladin »

JOIN NRA TODAY!, NRA Benefactor Life, TSRA Defender Life, Gun Owners of America Life, SAF, FPC, VCDL Member
LTC/SSC Instructor, NRA Certified Instructor, CRSO
The last hope of human liberty in this world rests on us. -Thomas Jefferson

parabelum
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Does Using an NFA Item in a Personal Defense Situation Put You in More Legal Jeopardy?

Post by parabelum »

:mrgreen: What if you just use suppressor as a club in self defense

LSUTiger

Re: Does Using an NFA Item in a Personal Defense Situation Put You in More Legal Jeopardy?

Post by LSUTiger »

I am not a lawyer and do not interpret anything I say as legal advice.

I think there are three questions that arise when and NFA device is used in a Self Defense situation:

1. Were you legally justified in Self Defense? In another words same rules apply as any other situation/non-NFA device.
2. Were you in legal possession of the NFA device?
3. Mitigating or Aggravation circumstances.

Of course the prosecution, if it goes to trial, will try to use it or anything against you to make you look bad but I don't think legally there is anything about NFA items that prohibits you from using them in Self Defense.

You also risk the loss of the item as any other.

Someone, anyone, please correct me if I am wrong.
Chance favors the prepared. Making good people helpless doesn't make bad people harmless.
There is no safety in denial. When seconds count the Police are only minutes away.
Sometimes I really wish a lawyer would chime in and clear things up. Do we have any lawyers on this forum?

Topic author
Paladin
Posts in topic: 2

Post by Paladin »

Criminal Use of Firearm Silencers