GUN SAFETY COURSE FOR ILLEGAL CONCEALED CARRY?

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
montgomery
Posts in topic: 4

GUN SAFETY COURSE FOR ILLEGAL CONCEALED CARRY?

Post by montgomery »

A momma called the shop today on behalf of her 18 year old son seeking a gun safety course. He was caught concealed carrying a handgun without a license and was told he could take a gun safety course to beat the firearms charge.

I never heard of such a thing, can't seem to find anything. For my own edification, does anyone have any info on this? Shop directed the momma to call her attorney in the meantime ...

RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 1

Re: GUN SAFETY COURSE FOR ILLEGAL CONCEALED CARRY?

Post by RoyGBiv »

PC 46.02 makes it a Class A Misdemeanor.
I don't think you can take a class and make that go away.
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

Topic author
montgomery

Post by montgomery »

RoyGBiv wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:39 pm PC 46.02 makes it a Class A Misdemeanor.
Exactly. I do not believe there is a "defensive driving school" to beat a firearms charge.

ScottDLS

Post by ScottDLS »

montgomery wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:09 pm
RoyGBiv wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:39 pm PC 46.02 makes it a Class A Misdemeanor.
Exactly. I do not believe there is a "defensive driving school" to beat a firearms charge.
It would seem to depend on the prosecutor and/or the judge. If they want to waive or defer prosecution based on some class, presumably they can.
4/13/1996 Completed CHL Class, 4/16/1996 Fingerprints, Affidavits, and Application Mailed, 10/4/1996 Received CHL, renewed 1998, 2002, 2006, 2011, 2016...). "ATF... Uhhh...heh...heh....Alcohol, tobacco, and GUNS!! Cool!!!!"

Beiruty
Posts in topic: 2

Post by Beiruty »

They can reduce the charge or drop the case for a "safety course". It is the judge call.
Beiruty,
United we stand, dispersed we falter