How long do primers last

For those who like to roll their own.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
GFaulkner
Posts in topic: 1

How long do primers last

Post by GFaulkner »

NOTE: Not an offer to sell. This is my first post - and I have a question.

Good morning to the list! First post here - I just found you folks a few days ago.

I am a real estate agent in the Austin area, but grew up in Dallas. My father was a life time NRA member, who shot at the "Distinguished Master" level in 2700 matches in Dallas, Ft. Worth, Shreveport and more - back in the '60's and 70's.

My dad passed away a while back and I got his guns and gun stuff. His target pistols are amazing - who here knows about Clark guns in LA?

Anyway - my dad shot only his reloaded ammo, claiming it was more accurate that anything the Army had, or that you could buy at the store. I have several thousand rounds of Army ball, and a bunch of wadcutter's, too (.45's), but none of his reloaded stuff - so I can't say for sure - but I know how good he was.

BUT - I also have a TON of primers. A couple of different brands, some labeled large, some small. They date from the '60's and early 70's.

Are they any good? The boxes themselves are in perfect shape - so I assume the primers inside are still good - but I don't know.

If they are - great. If not - how to get rid of them?

Thanks!
Gene

"It could probably be shown by facts and figures that there is no distinctly American criminal class except Congress."
Mark Twain

"People shouldn't be afraid of their government. Governments should be afraid of their people."
Alan Moore

G.A. Heath

Re: How long do primers last

Post by G.A. Heath »

I can't place why I know about clark guns, but I want to say what I heard was good. I want to say it was something to do with very high end gun smithing Primers will remain good virtually forever if stored properly.
How do you explain a dog named Sauer without first telling the story of a Puppy named Sig?