Online Backup Service ?

Most of us are not "computer people" so post your technical questions and comments here. If you have computer or Internet expertise, share it here.

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
Piney
Posts in topic: 1

Online Backup Service ?

Post by Piney »

Any comments on an online backup service, like the Carbonite or similar offerings ?

Do these services offer somthing akin to an incremental (only new file) backup or is it an all-or-none model ?

I'd like to backup doccuments and a fair amt of photo/image files-- probably 20-25g or so to begin with. That amt will increase over time.

I have them on the pc hd now, with a copy to an external USB drive. Eventually, I'd like to get a good amt of them off the PC HD completely, yet still have a copy.

FL450

Re: Online Backup Service ?

Post by FL450 »

I have been using Sugar Sync for 11/2 years. Love it. Auto sync. Web access and they have a Iphone app so i can access all my files and pics on the road from my I- phone. I can modify and email from any computer and they are working with docs to go so you can modify from the I-phone. http://www.sugar" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; sync.com. They are more expensive than carbanite but I am ot willing to switch right ow.
I love the sound smell of jet fuel in the morning.
Fat thumbs + IPhone = errors, please forgive.

pbwalker
Posts in topic: 3

Post by pbwalker »

I use Mozy and love it. $54.95 a year for unlimited storage.
*NRA Endowment Member* | Veteran
Vote Adam Kraut for the NRA Board of Directors - http://www.adamkraut.com/

AEA

Post by AEA »

My opinion is that if you want to give your personal data to someone you don't know, you may as well give it to me!

Seriously, I cannot imagine anyone in their right mind using any of those services.
Alan - ANYTHING I write is MY OPINION only.
Certified Curmudgeon - But, my German Shepherd loves me!
NRA-Life, USN '65-'69 & '73-'79: RM1
1911's RULE!

92f-fan

Post by 92f-fan »