RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 2

Restrictions on Interstate Sales/Transfers-UNCONSTITUTIONAL

Post by RoyGBiv »

By US District Court, Northern District of Texas. :hurry:
US District Judge Reed O'Conner

Mance v. Holder
" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

It's got a long way to go before it's settled... Sure to be appealed. Still.... :hurry:
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

AlaskanInTexas
Posts in topic: 4

Re: Restrictions on Interstate Sales/Transfers-UNCONSTITUTIO

Post by AlaskanInTexas »

Just read the opinion. I agree with it. Let's hope it sticks.

AlaskanInTexas

Post by AlaskanInTexas »

Too bad it didn't strike down 18 USC 922(a)(5):

(5) for any person (other than a licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer, or licensed collector) to transfer, sell, trade, give, transport, or deliver any firearm to any person (other than a licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer, or licensed collector) who the transferor knows or has reasonable cause to believe does not reside in (or if the person is a corporation or other business entity, does not maintain a place of business in) the State in which the transferor resides; except that this paragraph shall not apply to
(A) the transfer, transportation, or delivery of a firearm made to carry out a bequest of a firearm to, or an acquisition by intestate succession of a firearm by, a person who is permitted to acquire or possess a firearm under the laws of the State of his residence, and
(B) the loan or rental of a firearm to any person for temporary use for lawful sporting purposes;

cb1000rider

Post by cb1000rider »

It appears to be pretty narrow, only striking down 3 things:
§ 922(a)(3), 18 U.S.C. § 922(b)(3), and27 C.F.R. § 478.99(a)

Anyone want a shot at the cliffs notes of what they are?

Topic author
RoyGBiv

Post by RoyGBiv »