Anyone familiar with being a new resident?

So, your CHL Application has been filed and the clock has slowed to a crawl - tell us about it!

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
sfemti33
Posts in topic: 2

Anyone familiar with being a new resident?

Post by sfemti33 »

I am just curious if my situation is on par with others in my same boat. I am a new resident to the state and have only been here about 4 months. Took my class at the beginning of October and sent my documents in around October 10th. They finally acknowledged it at the end of October. I called last week and after being on hold I was told something to the affect of "It's just waiting to be cleared" and he had no other information. I keep seeing individuals in this forum with 40 day waits from mailbox to mailbox and I'm getting a bit concerned. My status has been in background for about 6 weeks. Like I said, I am new to the state and all of my work history/background would not be here. Any thoughts would be appreciated, thanks.

Jumping Frog
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Anyone familiar with being a new resident?

Post by Jumping Frog »

Patience.

Just curious, did you have a Texas DL when you applied?

When I moved to Texas, mine took a little longer than the average. I wasn't too concerned because I was already carrying here on a different state's reciprocal license.
-Just call me Bob . . . Texas Firearms Coalition, NRA Life member, TSRA Life member, and OFCC Patron member

This froggie ain't boiling! Shall not be infringed! Μολών Λαβέ

Topic author
sfemti33
Posts in topic: 2

Post by sfemti33 »

Jumping Frog wrote:Patience.

Just curious, did you have a Texas DL when you applied?

When I moved to Texas, mine took a little longer than the average. I wasn't too concerned because I was already carrying here on a different state's reciprocal license.
Yes, I got the Texas DL a few weeks prior to the course. I am also carrying on a reciprocal, but I would prefer to have the TXCHL.

smoothoperator
Posts in topic: 1