IDPA Holster Question

IDPA, IPSC, ICORE & More!

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
hi-power
Posts in topic: 2

IDPA Holster Question

Post by hi-power »

I'm new to IDPA and shooting for the first time this Saturday.

I've got an Uncle Mike's nylon OWB (clip on the belt) holster that probably won't pass the test of staying covered if I raise my arms straight out to my sides.

Can anyone recommend a fairly cheap OWB holster that rides higher on the belt that will pass the raised arm test that I can find locally?

longtooth
Posts in topic: 1

Post by longtooth »

Since you are just starting, ask before spending. See if the one in charge will accomodate you w/ what you have until you can get a good holster. Ours would I know.
Carry 24-7 or guess right.
CHL Instructor. http://www.pdtraining.us" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
NRA/TSRA Life Member - TFC Member #11

DMG

Post by DMG »

Whether or not the holster can be seen with your arms out to the sides is more of a function of your covering garment (vest, shirt, etc.) than of your holster. There are other rules regarding your holster (rear cant, space between holster and belt, etc.) That having been said, I have yet to see a match director who would not let someone shoot IDPA for the first time, even if the holster was in flagrant disregard of the rules, unless it was a safety issue. Go shoot the match with what you have, ask questions (legality of holster, holster recommendations, etc.), and have fun. My suggestion for any first time shooter, slow down; you are not as fast as you think you are and if you try to be you will have an awful lot of points down. DMG.

rgoldy

Post by rgoldy »