Can You Shoot to Protect Property in TEXAS

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
egammonsr
Posts in topic: 1

Can You Shoot to Protect Property in TEXAS

Post by egammonsr »

I'm sure the following question has been "asked & answered," but my search didn't turn up anything.

I am a CCW instructor in Louisiana, and am asked this a lot (since our states have reciprocity): Can you use deadly force in Texas to protect property? My stock answer is to "look it up," since I don't teach Texas laws. But I'm asking here because this site has far more credibility than most internet forums.

* When I'm asked the question, it is usually couched in terms of "In Texas, can I shoot a guy who is burglarizing my truck?"

* I have read Texas Section 941, and it appears to generally indicate "yes." (In Louisiana we cannot - we can only use deadly force to protect people).

* I understand, and explain to those who ask, that it's not wise to go and confront a robber, and remind them that "stuff can be replaced."

So, WITH ALL THAT SAID, IN TEXAS, Can you legally shoot someone who is breaking into, or has broken into, your vehicle ?? (Not that it matters, but the guy who recently posed the question to me has had his vehicle broken into several times, most recently losing ~ $19,000 of guns. These were super high grade shotuns, and he's understandibly perturbed.)

tbrown
Posts in topic: 9

Re: Can You Shoot to Protect Property in TEXAS

Post by tbrown »

If you're in the vehicle, you can definitely use deadly force to stop the carjacker.
sent to you from my safe space in the hill country

seconds
Posts in topic: 2

Post by seconds »

Definitely on an arson or attempted arson (esp MY HOUSE). Crack houses may be burned at will.