travel advise needed

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
thetexan
Posts in topic: 1

travel advise needed

Post by thetexan »

I will be traveling from texas eastward thru LA, MS, AL, GA then SC, NC and VA. Then back thru TN, AR and back.

I will of course study all of the individual state laws to be very familiar but does anyone have any advise or warnings involving any of those states that jump out and come to mind. I will want to carry in the car and concealed and into the hotels.

Im looking for the non obviou s as well as the obvious. Again, stuff that might not be apparent from reading the laws.

thanks,
tex
Texas LTC Instructor, NRA Pistol Instructor, CFI, CFII, MEI Instructor Pilot

RoyGBiv

Re: travel advise needed

Post by RoyGBiv »

Restaurants that serve alcohol.

No guns signs.

Rules check at every state line.
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

chasfm11

Post by chasfm11 »

Part of the discussion centers around how long you will be in each State. For the most part, I submit that no person can remember all of the differences in as many States as you are visiting even if you study those differences at every State Line change. We drove 950 miles in one day, traveling through PA, MD, WVA, VA, and TN. Putting aside the extraordinary steps that are necessary for the 12 mile stretch of MD on I-81, just trying to remember the important stuff from the others is staggering.

So here are a couple of questions to ask yourself: