Boy, Did This Veteran Blow It!

Topics that do not fit anywhere else. Absolutely NO discussions of religion, race, or immigration!

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
JALLEN
Posts in topic: 5

Boy, Did This Veteran Blow It!

Post by JALLEN »

Yesterday was Veteran's Day.

I left the house early in the evening, intending to get dinner before the band rehearsal. I thought I might try the Golden Corral, but when I arrived, the line stretched out the door around the door and way off over yonder. It looked like every American Legion and VFW post in several counties were meeting there, 100% attendance too.

Ahh, well, off to Plan B. The local Tex-Mex eatery is always good and reasonable. They had a sign offering 50% off to all Veterans with ID. I am a Veteran, have not one but TWO Honorable Discharges, but no ID as I am not retired and got out 30 some years ago. So I ate, a very decent meal, too, and paid full price.

Today, I was reminded that my D/L says "VETERAN" on it, an option for Texans who are veterans!

I get stopped every ten years or so and don't get carded anymore, even for senior coffee at McDonalds, so I never look at my D/L. Costly, it turns out!

All you Texans who are Veterans ought to get down to the D/L office and get your D/L to reflect that honored status. It'll save you some dough a couple of times a year, and maybe pay other dividends too.
Luckily, I have enough willpower to control the driving ambition that rages within me.

howdy
Posts in topic: 3

Re: Boy, Did This Veteran Blow It!

Post by howdy »