Education Rankings

Topics that do not fit anywhere else. Absolutely NO discussions of religion, race, or immigration!

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 4

Education Rankings

Post by RoyGBiv »

Very off topic, but I thought it was an interesting read and worth sharing.
Good news for TX and reflective of my experience anecdotally.

Everything You Know About State Education Rankings Is Wrong
Our second and more important change was to disaggregate student performance data so that we could compare likes with likes. Traditional rankings effectively reward states for not having many minority students. States do well simply because they are populated by families from more socioeconomically successful ethnic categories—not because they are actually doing a good job educating their various categories of students.
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

MaduroBU
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Education Rankings

Post by MaduroBU »

There is no substitute for a supportive nuclear family that provides children with appropriate responsibility and strongly encourages them to pursue education to the extent of their ability.

DocV

Post by DocV »

Interesting.
In a related article, https://www.expressnews.com/news/educat ... 819649.php,
we find:
Texas students fell to their all-time lowest ranking in reading and slipped closer to the national averages in math last year, part of an across-the-board decline on the test commonly known as the “Nation’s Report Card,” according to results released today.

Texas fourth-graders ranked 45th and eighth-graders placed 41st in reading on the National Assessment of Educational Progress, the state’s lowest finish in the exam’s 25-year history. Texas students still performed above national averages on the math test — fourth-graders placed 18th, eighth-graders placed 24th — although both cohorts saw their standings drop in 2017.