Knife Sharpeners

Topics that do not fit anywhere else. Absolutely NO discussions of religion, race, or immigration!

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
bbhack
Posts in topic: 3

Knife Sharpeners

Post by bbhack »

Anyone have one of these? I am happy with mine. Did not want to spend ~$70, but dropped it. Was looking at it for over a year. This a belt sharpener, and it comes with a red grit and a gray grit belt (and a couple others).

The manual says it does - and it really does - produce a convex edge. For those who are used to a chisel edge on knives, this can make an edge that looks not right. The proof is in the cutting, though. A convex edge puts more metal forward, and that's good. For the thin kitchen knives, the convex edge is not noticeable. For a fat blade carry knife, it's very noticeable.

So now my blades are razor sharp, but the wear is obvious. I worked in a restaurant where we used a belt sharpener constantly, and the knives were "expendable". Obviously this is not the same type of wear and tear, but for non-keepsake blades, I might recommend this.
IMG_20181020_000453766.jpg
Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness

cmgee67
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Knife Sharpeners

Post by cmgee67 »